UN Regional Course in International Law for Africa 2027 in Ethiopia | Fellowship Available

Last checked: 19 October 2026

Are you a legal professional in Africa who wants UN training, but you worry about fake offers and wrong dates? Many posts about the United Nations Regional Course in International Law for Africa 2027 use the words “fully funded”, and the official pages do not.

This guide gives you the real requirements, the funding details, and the steps to apply for the United Nations Regional Course in International Law for Africa. Also, every fact comes from the official UN pages.

However, time is short. The deadline is 30 October 2026, and the course is for professionals, not students. Therefore, read the eligibility section first.

Quick Answer

The United Nations Regional Course in International Law for Africa 2027 is a 3-week in-person training in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 15 March to 7 April 2027. It is for legal professionals with experience in international law from African Group countries, and it is taught in English. The application deadline is 30 October 2026, and the UN charges no fee to apply.

Details About the United Nations Regional Course in International Law for Africa 2027

  • Organiser: UN Codification Division, Office of Legal Affairs
  • Partners: Ethiopia, the African Union and the UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
  • Type: Professional training course (not a degree)
  • Venue: ECA facilities in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (in person)
  • Dates: 15 March to 7 April 2027
  • Language: English
  • Places: Up to 30 participants, including a limited number of self-funded places
  • Funding: Fellowship for selected participants (see Benefits)
  • Deadline: 30 October 2026

Also check: FAO UN Internship Program 2026-27

Benefits

Participants who receive a fellowship get the following:

  • Travel: The brochure says economy class travel.
  • Accommodation: Provided without charge, according to the FAQ.
  • Medical insurance: Covered by the fellowship.
  • Training materials: A full set for every participant.
  • Meals: The website financial page and FAQ list meals. The brochure does not mention them.
  • Stipend: A modest stipend for other living expenses, set by UN fellowship rules. The amount is not stated.
  • Certificate: Awarded to participants who complete the whole course.

Participants also learn from leading international law scholars and practitioners. The seminars cover treaty law, State responsibility, peace and security, human rights, humanitarian law, criminal law, the law of the sea, trade, investment, and African Union law and institutions.

What It Does NOT Cover

  • Self-funded places: These participants pay for travel, medical insurance, accommodation and living costs. Only the training materials are provided.
  • Medical advance payments: The fellowship covers medical insurance, but the stipend does not cover advance payments that some medical institutions require.
  • Visa costs: Not confirmed on the official pages.
  • Number of fellowships: Not confirmed. The pages say only “up to 30 participants” in total.
  • Part-time attendance: You must attend the whole course.

Also check: Opportunities category

Eligibility

  • Nationality: A national of a UN Member State that belongs to the African Group.
  • Background: A legal background with professional experience in international law.
  • Language: Fluent spoken and written English. If English is not your mother tongue or language of instruction, you must submit a valid language certificate.
  • Employer: Government officials, academics, and professionals at intergovernmental or non-governmental organisations. Candidates who are not government officials can be nominated by their institution.
  • Availability: You must certify that you can attend the full course, from 15 March to 7 April 2027.
  • Gender: Female candidates are strongly encouraged to apply.

Who Is NOT Eligible

  • Current UN staff members
  • Applicants from countries outside the African Group
  • Anyone who cannot attend the whole course
  • Students without professional experience (the official FAQ says applying as a student does not make sense)

Also check: Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship 2027/28 in the UK

Be Realistic About Your Chances

This course is competitive. It accepts up to 30 participants for the whole African Group. The official pages publish no success rate and no number of fellowships.

The UN selects participants based on qualifications, the scope of their professional duties, how relevant the training is to their work, and gender balance. Therefore, a clear explanation of how the course helps your job matters most.

Also, a country can nominate several candidates. However, the FAQ says being the only applicant from your country does not raise your chances. If you were not selected before, you can apply again with a new complete application.

Warning: The UN Charges No Fee

The UN says it does not charge a fee at any stage of the application and selection process. It also says it does not ask for candidates’ bank account information. Therefore, never pay anyone for a place, and never share bank details.

Required Documents

  • Application form: English only (Word file). Your sponsoring institution fills certain parts of it, but you can send the completed form directly to the Codification Division.
  • Language certificate: Required if English is not your mother tongue or language of instruction.
  • Other documents: Not confirmed on the official pages. Read the application form carefully, because it may list more items.

Who Should Apply?

  • Legal officers in government ministries and agencies
  • Teachers and researchers of international law
  • Legal professionals at intergovernmental or non-governmental organisations
  • Candidates with real experience in international law who can leave work for about three weeks

How to Apply

  1. Check your eligibility. Confirm your nationality, your legal experience, your English level, and that you can attend from 15 March to 7 April 2027.
  2. Download the form. Get the application form (English only) from the official page.
  3. Ask your institution to help. Your sponsoring institution must fill certain parts. You do not need to go through your government.
  4. Prepare your language proof. Do this if English is not your mother tongue or language of instruction.
  5. Complete the form carefully. Incomplete applications are not considered.
  6. Send it to the Codification Division before 30 October 2026. The official pages do not name a submission address in the text I could open, so follow the instructions on the application process page and in the form. For questions, write to rcil-africa@un.org.
  7. Wait for the result. The selection date is not stated on the official pages.

Also check: Global Future Forum 2026 in Bali, Indonesia

Apply Now – Official Application Page

Important Dates

ItemDate
Application deadline30 October 2026
Selection resultsNot stated on the official pages
Course start15 March 2027
Course end7 April 2027
VenueECA, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the United Nations Regional Course in International Law for Africa 2027 open?

Yes. The official page says the application process is open, with a deadline of 30 October 2026. The UN does not accept incomplete or late applications.

Who can apply for the United Nations Regional Course in International Law for Africa?

You must be a national of a UN Member State in the African Group, with a legal background and professional experience in international law. You also need fluent English and the ability to attend the whole course. Government officials, academics, and professionals at intergovernmental or non-governmental organisations can apply. Current UN staff cannot.

Is the United Nations Regional Course in International Law free?

Selected fellowship participants get travel, accommodation, medical insurance, training materials and a modest stipend. However, a limited number of places are self-funded, and those participants pay all costs except training materials. The official pages do not call it “fully funded”.

Does the UN charge a fee to apply?

No. The UN says it does not charge a fee at any stage and does not ask for bank account details.

Does the UN offer free courses?

Some UN bodies do, but this course is different. It is an in-person training in Addis Ababa for legal professionals, and the official pages do not describe it as an online course.

Related Articles