Fully Funded Scholarships

Doha Institute for Graduate Studies Scholarship 2027 | Fully Funded in Qatar

Applications for the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies Scholarship 2027 opened on September 1, 2026, giving Master’s and PhD applicants until January 15, 2027, to apply for one of two funding tracks at Qatar’s dedicated graduate research institute. Unlike many single-track scholarships, the Doha Institute (DI) offers two separate awards side by side: the merit-based Tamim Scholarship and the need-based Sanad Scholarship. In particular, applicants seeking fully funded scholarships in Qatar 2027 will find this program especially compelling, since picking the right track matters — eligibility and coverage differ between them.

DI itself is a fairly young institution. The Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies founded it in Doha in 2014, and it welcomed its first graduate cohort in 2015. Since then, DI has built a strong reputation, particularly in the Arab world, as a research-focused postgraduate school. Specifically, it concentrates on the social sciences, humanities, public administration, and development economics, rather than following the broad multi-faculty model most universities use.

This guide separates the two scholarship tracks and walks through DI’s two-stage application process, which catches out more applicants than it should. Additionally, it flags the handful of details the Institute’s own site doesn’t spell out precisely, so you know what to double-check before you apply.

Quick Answer

The Doha Institute for Graduate Studies Scholarship 2027 covers Master’s and PhD study in Qatar through two tracks: the merit-based Tamim Scholarship and the need-based Sanad Scholarship. Tamim provides full tuition, dormitory accommodation for international students, a monthly stipend, health insurance, and two travel tickets. Meanwhile, Sanad covers 10–100% of program fees based on need, with the same additional benefits for international students from outside Qatar. Overall, applications close January 15, 2027, and run entirely through the DI Admissions portal.

Details About the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies Scholarship

  • Host Institution: Doha Institute for Graduate Studies (DI)
  • Host Country: Qatar
  • Degree Levels: Master’s, PhD
  • Scholarship Tracks: Tamim (merit-based), Sanad (need-based)
  • Fields: School of Social Sciences and Humanities; School of Economics, Administration and Public Policy
  • Applications Open: September 1, 2026
  • Application Deadline: January 15, 2027

Also check: KAUST AMS School 2026 in Saudi Arabia | Fully Funded

The Two Scholarship Tracks

DI doesn’t offer one blanket scholarship. Instead, it runs two, each serving a different kind of applicant.

Tamim Scholarship (Merit-Based)

Tamim is DI’s flagship award, reserved for the strongest academic candidates. The Institute describes it as targeting distinguished Qatari and international students, with particular emphasis on applicants from the Arab world. It provides:

  • Full Tuition Fee Coverage: All program fees waived for the duration of the degree
  • Dormitory Accommodation: Free institute housing for students coming from outside Qatar
  • Monthly Stipend: A regular living allowance (the Institute has not published a specific figure)
  • Health Insurance: Full medical coverage for the duration of study
  • Two Round-Trip Travel Tickets: One on arrival, one after graduation

Sanad Scholarship (Need-Based)

Sanad is open more broadly, to Qatari nationals, residents of Qatar, and international applicants from any country. Importantly, it assesses financial need rather than academic ranking alone. It covers:

  • Program Fee Coverage: 10% to 100% of program fees, scaled to the applicant’s demonstrated financial need
  • Full Support Package for International Students: For applicants from outside Qatar, this includes full tuition, accommodation, a monthly stipend, health insurance, and two travel tickets — the same additional support Tamim provides, once DI sets the fee-coverage tier

If you’re not sure which track fits your situation, note that the scholarship application form (see below) asks you to select one. You can’t apply to both in the same cycle.

Also check: KAUST VSRP Internship 2026 in Saudi Arabia | $1,000 Monthly Stipend

Study Fields

DI concentrates its programs into two schools rather than spreading across a large multi-faculty structure:

  • School of Social Sciences and Humanities — including fields such as sociology, media studies, history, politics and international relations, philosophy, and linguistics
  • School of Economics, Administration and Public Policy — including public policy, public administration, and executive/dual-degree management programs

Because the course list changes between cycles, confirm the current program list on DI’s official Academic Programs page before finalizing your choice.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Academic Background: Master’s applicants need a Bachelor’s degree; PhD applicants need a Master’s degree, both from a recognized institution
  • Nationality: Sanad is open to applicants of any nationality, including Qataris and Qatar residents. Tamim’s own description emphasizes Qatari and Arab-world applicants specifically. If you’re applying from outside the Arab world, confirm with the Admissions Office whether Tamim is available to you before building your application around it.
  • English Proficiency: DI requires an IELTS Academic or TOEFL score. However, published figures for the minimum score vary between 5.5 and 6.5 depending on the source. DI’s own site doesn’t state one figure clearly enough to repeat here with confidence — verify the current threshold directly through the Admissions Office or portal before assuming you meet it.
  • English Waiver: Applicants who completed their Bachelor’s degree at an English-medium institution can typically request a waiver by submitting an official letter confirming the language of instruction.
  • Documents: Certified transcripts, degree certificate(s), an updated CV, a personal statement or study plan, and academic reference letters. Sources disagree on whether DI requires two or three — plan to request three to be safe.
  • Application Limit: DI permits only one admission application per cycle and does not consider duplicate applications

Who Is NOT Eligible

Before investing time in your application, confirm you do not fall into any of the following categories.

  • Applicants without a completed Bachelor’s degree (for Master’s) or Master’s degree (for PhD) from a recognized institution
  • Applicants submitting more than one admission application in the same cycle — duplicates are not considered
  • Applicants hoping to apply to both Tamim and Sanad in the same cycle — the scholarship form requires selecting one track only
  • Applicants from outside the Arab world assuming Tamim eligibility without confirming it first with the Admissions Office

Also check: DAAD EPOS Scholarship 2027/28 in Germany — Fully Funded

Required Documents

Prepare these documents before starting your application on the DI Admissions portal.

  • Certified Academic Transcripts: From all previously attended institutions
  • Degree Certificate(s): Bachelor’s degree certificate for Master’s applicants; Master’s degree certificate for PhD applicants
  • Updated CV: A current academic résumé
  • Personal Statement or Study Plan: Outlining your background, goals, and fit for your chosen program
  • English Proficiency Documentation: IELTS or TOEFL score report, or your official English-medium waiver letter
  • Academic Reference Letters: Sources disagree on whether DI requires two or three — plan to request three to be safe

Also check: Erasmus Mundus Scholarship 2027/29 | Fully Funded Master’s in Europe

Not Clearly Confirmed

Scholarship sites commonly repeat the following details, but DI’s own published pages don’t state them clearly enough to verify. Treat them as unconfirmed until you check directly with the Admissions Office:

  • An exact minimum IELTS/TOEFL score (sources range from 5.5 to 6.5)
  • The exact number of required reference letters (two or three)
  • Whether an age limit applies
  • The exact monthly stipend amount
  • Whether DI charges an application fee
  • Whether the admission application has an earlier internal deadline (some sources cite January 5, 2027) ahead of the January 15, 2027 scholarship deadline
  • Whether PhD funding is disbursed in phases tied to academic progress, rather than as a flat award like the Master’s track

How the Application Actually Works

This is where a lot of applicants get tripped up: the scholarship is not a separate application you submit upfront. DI’s process runs in two stages.

  1. Apply for Admission First: Create an account on the DI Admissions portal and submit a standard application for the Master’s or PhD program you want.
  2. Wait for the Scholarship Form: Once the Admissions Office reviews your admission application and finds you eligible, they send you a separate scholarship application form.
  3. Choose Tamim or Sanad: Indicate which track you’re applying for on that form — you cannot select both.
  4. Submit Required Documents: Upload transcripts, certificates, your CV, personal statement, and English proficiency documentation (or your waiver letter).
  5. Request Your References: References are typically requested directly through the online system, and your referees are notified automatically by email.
  6. Track Your Application: Check the status of submitted references and follow up with referees before the deadline — DI does not chase this for you.
  7. Submit Before January 15, 2027: Complete both the admission and scholarship components by the deadline. Don’t leave the reference-letter step until the final week. Some sources also cite an earlier admission-only cutoff of January 5, 2027 — confirm this directly with the Admissions Office rather than assuming you have until the 15th for every step.

Important Dates

EventDate
Applications OpenSeptember 1, 2026
Application DeadlineJanuary 15, 2027
Scholarship TracksTamim (merit-based), Sanad (need-based)
Application MethodOnline, via DI Admissions portal

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the actual difference between Tamim and Sanad?

Tamim is merit-based and centers on academic excellence, with particular emphasis on Arab-world applicants. Sanad is need-based, open to a broader nationality pool, and scales your fee coverage (10–100%) to your demonstrated financial need rather than academic ranking alone.

Do I apply for the scholarship and the degree program separately?

Yes, sequentially, not at the same time. You apply for admission first; only after that application is reviewed does the Admissions Office send eligible applicants a separate scholarship form to choose Tamim or Sanad.

Is an IELTS or TOEFL score mandatory?

Generally yes, unless you completed your Bachelor’s degree at an English-medium institution and can provide an official waiver letter. The exact minimum score is not clearly published by DI, so confirm the current threshold directly with the Admissions Office rather than relying on any single third-party figure.

Can students from outside the Arab world apply?

Sanad is explicitly open to applicants from any country. Tamim’s own description leans toward Qatari and Arab-world candidates, so if you’re applying from elsewhere, it’s worth checking directly whether Tamim is realistically available to you before basing your application on it.

How many reference letters do I need?

Sources vary between two and three. To be safe, arrange for three academic referees and confirm the exact requirement once you reach the scholarship application stage.

Is the monthly stipend a fixed, published amount?

No figure is published on DI’s official pages that this research could verify — the Institute confirms a stipend is provided but does not state the amount publicly.

What happens if I submit a duplicate application?

DI states that only one admission application is permitted per cycle; duplicate applications will not be considered, so don’t submit more than one even if you’re considering multiple programs.

When do I find out if I’ve been selected?

DI’s public pages did not specify an exact notification date for the 2027 cycle at the time of this research — check your applicant portal directly for updates after the January 15, 2027 deadline.